DIY skin care recipes that I love!

2014-04-20 07.05.58

I really enjoy finding homemade skin care recipes so today I thought I would share my favourites with you guys!

1. Baby Soap as facewash

This is what I use on a daily basis to wash my face. I haven’t tried a lot of face washes but I have found that in the past, either that are really expensive or they break me out. When I was a teenager, I just used to wash my face with a bar of dove soap and warm water, but after using baby soap one day, I think it’s way better! Plus it’s something I normally purchase anyway so it’s very affordable! I love the Ecostore and more natural baby soaps but Johnson & Johnson does the trick too!

2. Baking soda deep cleanse/black head remover

Mix 1tsp baking soda to 3-4tbsp water and apply to face (problem area if using for black head removal) Leave on for 1-2 minutes before rinsing off and drying. You can also use milk or coconut milk in place of water if you really want to be pampered!

I saw this on pinterest about 8 months ago and  was really sceptical about it since I badly damaged my hair by washing with baking soda once. After doing some research I have realised that the key to this one is DILUTION! Baking soda can be very harsh on your skin so it’s important that you don’t use too much directly on your face. Some of the recipes I have seen recommend mixing it into a paste, in my experience do not do this! It works much better if you mix it into a elixir type of thing and apply to your face using a cotton pad/face cloth. Don’t leave it on too long, I usually wash it off as soon as it starts to tingle. I also only do this once a month or when I feel like my face needs a good clean. This will strip all your natural oils so it’s not a good idea to do this one on a daily or weekly basis. It’s also important to follow this one up with a moisturiser.

3. Coconut milk cleanser

Apply coconut milk to face with a cotton pad and leave on for 5 minutes. Rinse with water and pat your face dry face.

Unlike coconut oil, I LOVE using coconut milk on my hair and skin. I also use coconut milk to deep condition/clarify my hair every couple of weeks. I find it so soothing and gentle on my face and it doesn’t leave me with excessively oily skin like some other natural cleansers I have tried. Try and use organic coconut milk if you can, but don’t worry too much, the tinned kind has been ok for me so far 🙂

4. Green Tea Cleanser

Add 1-2 teabags to about 1/2 cup of boiling water. Steep for 5-10 minutes before allowing to cool. When it is cool enough, apply to face with cotton pad and rinse with warm water. 

So I literally just tried this and I LOVE IT. The green tea was really soothing and gentle on my face and it smelled divine! And afterwards my face felt so fresh and smooth. Green tea is really fantastic for your skin and it makes a fantastic cleanser. Just make sure you steep it for at least five minutes to release all those wonderful antioxidants!

5. Green tea and rose petal soak

Fill bath first with only hot water. While bath is running, add 4-5 green tea bags and allow to steep for 5-10 minutes. Add 1C of rose petals to bath and top up with cold water to desired temperature. 

Doesn’t that just sound heavenly?? I adore bath soaks, I have so many great recipes for ones I have tried and others that I am wanting to try! But I wanted to share this one because it’s rejuvenating and luxurious! I generally don’t wash my hair or body with any kind of commercial soaps when I do this, I just light some candles and lay back and relax. It is so therapeutic!

6. Moisturising Rolled oat bath soak

Cut a piece of muslin into a square. Add about 1C of dry rolled oats to the middle of square and tie with a rubber band (or hair tie or baking twine or whatever you have handy) For a relaxing sleepy time bath, add a few sprigs of fresh lavender if you have any.

Rolled oats are a fantastic moisturiser so this one is great if you have dry hands, feet etc. It’s really gentle on your skin and leaves your body feeling so soft. As you sit in the bath, the pouch will become saturated and the oats will go soft and gooey and a creamy liquid will be produced and released into the water. So what I also love doing is using the pouch directly on my face, neck and body after it has been in the water for a bit as a body wash. It’s fantastic. This one is also ideal for little ones before bed, especially with the addition of lavender. You could also add a chamomile tea bag to the pouch if you want something even more dream inducing! Just make sure you don’t fall asleep in the bath!

7. Aloe Vera as moisturiser

Apply aloe vera (either fresh from the plant, or in gel form) to the skin as moisturiser for a fresh face.

I have tried a bunch of different things in place of a commerical moisturiser but I have found most of them to leave my naturally oily face feeling weighty and greasy. Aloe Vera is perfect if you have oily skin, as at least for me, it doesn’t have the same effect. Despite being told that adding oil to an oily face is a good thing, I have tried time and time again to use oils (coconut oil, olive oil, calendula oil) only to be disappointed. Perhaps I am not giving my skin enough time to get used to it before giving up, but I cannot stand having an oily greasy face. Using Aloe Vera has worked really well for me in the past. I am looking forward to trying to make my own actual moisturiser soon, whenever I can get around to it. This recipe looks fantastic!

So there are a few recipes that you might want to try! I have a bunch more that I love to make but I didn’t want to make this post too long, so I just included the ones that I use most frequently. Please let me know if you would be interested in another post like this and I will get onto it!

Leave a Reply

