A year of Dates {January}

So as many of you know, this year for The Manly One’s Birthday I decided give him a gift that’s a little different. On his 24th Birthday, Jan 6th, 2014 I presented him with 12 envelopes. Each envelope contains a mystery date that I have preplanned – one date for each month of this year! Last night we went on our first date which he had no idea about until we got in the car to go. We were running late (as we usually do these days) so I didn’t have time to snap a picture – but I took a photo of the first month’s date card so you can get an idea of what we did!

2014-01-31 14.39.22Salt on The Pier is a local restaurant up the road from our house which overlooks the ocean. It’s a beautiful place to go for a romantic dinner out so I thought that after a busy end of the year, The Manly One deserved a nice relaxing evening out – so that’s what I gave him. We had a table by the window so as we enjoyed our meal, we could admire the beach below.

2014-01-30 20.10.08We sat down and ordered our meals and got chatting. It was really nice unwinding and spending some quality time together. The manly one of course, was my favourite view! While we were chatting I spotted a rather phallic looking salt shaker, so I snapped a pic because why not:

2014-01-30 20.38.08After a while our meals arrived and boy – the were delicious! I had a Pesto Filled Chicken Mignon on a potato gratin with season veggies:

2014-01-30 20.43.19And Chris had Malborough Salmon on Jambalaya Rice:

2014-01-30 20.43.29The meals were so delicious and we were stuffed by the time we had finished…. but we ordered a dessert to share anyway – Raspberry Panna Cotta… YUM!:

2014-01-30 21.11.52After dinner, the plan was to go on a nice romantic walk on the beach – to sink our toes in the sand and dip our feet in the water – after all, it is summer isn’t it? Well, apparently not. Last night it was rather cloudy and cold so we decided to go to our favourite bar The Last Word for a drink instead! The Last Word is a cocktail and Whiskey bar and The Manly One and I love going there to try new things! The atmosphere is very intimate and cosy, so it was the perfect setting for our romantic night out.

2014-01-30 21.59.41I had a dram of a Bowmore 12yo and The Manly One had a dram of Bunnahabhain 25yo. Sometimes we go in there half knowing what we want and other times we just pick something off the menu and give it a go. I wouldn’t have picked mine if I had known what it would taste like – but I’m really glad that I did because I enjoyed it very much. It had a very smokey flavour which was nice and different – I usually pick sweet tasting drinks! The Manly One’s was nice and he enjoyed it – I sampled a little bit but it was too strong for me and I didn’t like it! haha.

2014-01-30 21.59.48

We had a beautiful night and The Manly One seemed to enjoy himself! I am looking forward to the rest of our dates – I know that The Manly One will enjoy our next date – but I’m not giving anything a way just yet!

Leave a Reply

