The year that was -2013

2013inreview

Wow what a year! And how fast it has flown!  We’re down to our last week of 2013 so I thought I would make a year in review post. I did this quiz last year and I really loved having an opportunity to think and reflect about the year just (about) gone. It’s so hard to believe that this time last year, I had a little four month old who was just learning how to laugh and coo. Now I have a very busy toddler who loves climbing and getting into mischief! It’s unbelievable how much things can change over the course of a year. If you like this quiz, please feel free to copy and paste the questions onto your page or blog and fill it out too! It’s nice looking back and sharing your special moments with others 🙂

1. What did you do in 2013 that you’d never done before?

I got married which was super duper exciting! I also made my first online purchase from overseas, got my eyebrows waxed and had a dress (my wedding dress) made for me.

2. Did you keep your new year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

Sad to say that most of my resolutions fell by the wayside. My biggest goal for 2013 was to eat healthy and get fit. Unfortunately, I fell off the wagon midway through the year and never really got back on. I am hoping to get back on track after the new year. We’ve had a very very busy few months that I haven’t had much time to think about my goals or work towards attaining them! But now things are calmer so I will be setting some new goals for 2014 soon!

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?

No, unfortunately! But two people in my family became pregnant so I am eagerly awaiting their arrivals in feb/march!

4. Did anyone close to you die?

So happy to be able to answer no to this question.

5. What countries did you visit?

Nowhere really! But we did move from Hamilton back down to Christchurch, which we are so happy about. A very positive move.

6. What would you like to have in 2014 that you lacked in 2013?

Kind of related to the previous question, I had hoped we’d do some travel this year. Ever optimistic though, maybe in 2014!

7. What dates from 2013 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

August 7th (Charlie’s first birthday) and December 3rd (our third anniversary and our wedding day!)

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?

Definitely my wedding and marriage. So much planning went into the wedding and I was so pleased that we pulled it off! I really loved our wedding, it was just perfect. But I have to say that my marriage is probably my biggest achievement of this year. I am really loving being married and so proud to be able to now introduce the Manly One as my husband – I get a little kick out of it every time!

9. What was your biggest failure?

Definitely my weight loss goals. I was going so well at the start of the year, losing weight, eating well and feeling great. As the year wore on, I would workout ever 2nd day, then every 3rd, then only when I remembered and had the energy…. I am so disappointed about this! There is always next year though!

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?

No, thankfully!

11. What was the best thing you bought?

I can’t really think of anything that we bought but I can definitely name a few things we’ve been given! Our vacuum cleaner, microwave and dust buster to name a few!

12. Where did most of your money go?

Wedding expenses, bills/debt and child maintenance (lol) Even though my grandarents very generously covered a large majority of the wedding bills, a lot of our paychecks went to the Great Cause as well.

13. What did you get really, really, really excited about?

I was so unbelievably excited for the wedding!

14. What songs will always remind you of 2013?

If There Is Something by Roxy Music, This Guy’s in Love with You by Herb Alpert and Baroque Again by Graham Wardop, our wedding guitarist.

15. Compared to this time last year, are you:

 a) Happier or sadder? Happier!

 b) Thinner or fatter? Fatter >.<

c ) Poorer or Richer? Richer! The Manly One is totally earning those ernies! He is an outstanding sales person and bringing in totally rockin’ commissions!

16. What do you wish you’d done more of?

Looking back, I wish I had practiced better self care. I probably sound horribly superficial but looking good makes me feel good. Wearing make up and pretty dresses makes me feel good. Art makes me feel good. Poetry makes me feel good. My new goals for new year include making time to do my hair and make and I am so eager to go to my first spoken word poetry gig!

17. What do you wish you’d done less of?

Less rushing. I have felt so busy this and have done a lot of rushing. This new year I must remember to slow down remember that there’s always time to do things if you make it.

18. How did you spend Christmas in 2013?

I was so happy to spend Christmas with my whole family for the first time since 2010! It was really nice being together. We had a BBQ at my grandad’s place and it was lovely.

19. Did you fall in love in 2013?

I did! Love is a funny thing, I find myself falling in love again with the Manly One all the time. Sometimes he will do or say something and it will give me butterflies like the first time we spoke and I find myself even more besotted with him. Our wedding day was one of those days – hearing his vows and seeing the sincerity on his face was incomparable to anything ever.

20. What was your favourite TV programme?

I have a few! I am really lame and always late to the TV programme party. I love waiting until there are at least a few seasons of a series so I don’t have to wait til the next one is out. This year I have enjoyed watching Breaking Bad (loved it!), Downton Abbey, Stephen Moffat’s Doctor Who’s, Skins, Kitchen Nightmares, New Zealand’s Got Talent and Mr. Selfridge.

21. What was the best book you read?

I really didn’t read many books this year! But I have been reading of lot of blogs and websites. I love Mommyish and the art history tumblr Jaded-Mandarin.

22. What was your greatest musical discovery?

I have recently discovered my favourite radio station, thanks to my nan who listens to it in her car! It is called The Attic (96.1) and they seriously play the best range of music. It is run by the New Zealand Broadcasting School and I think it is a student radio station. Lots of great music and very few ads! Brilliant!

23. What did you want and get?

My perfect wedding and perfect husband.

24. What did you want and not get?

I really wanted to travel but it just wasn’t on the cards for 2013!

25. What was your favourite film of this year?

Soooo many. The Manly one and I love movies and watch a lot of films. We’ve only been to the cinema once this year (to see the latest hunger games) but films released in 2013 that we enjoyed were Warm Bodies, The Brass Teapot, Monsters University and Catching Fire.

26. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?

I turned 20 this year and the Manly One treated me to dinner and a night out. And as he always does, he bought me a new bottle of my favourite perfume Tresor In Love.

27. What kept you sane?

My family. It has been such a great comfort being with them all again.

28. What political issue stirred you the most?

Rape culture and every day sexism.

29. Who did you miss?

The Manly One! He is currently working full time and studying and it feels like I hardly ever get to see him!

30. Who was the best new person you met?

My new friend Amy and her little boy Ashton. They are so sweet! And also, it was really lovely meeting my brother in law’s girlfriend, Lorna 🙂

31. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2013?

This year I have learned a lot from watching my son grow. I have learned to cherish every day because there will only happen once. He has taught me to slow down and enjoy simple things like picking grass and throwing balls. He has reminded me of the importance of trying again – I adore the way he is undeterred by failing. If he can’t figure out how to do something, he will persist until he has mastered it. I must learn to be this way. I have been learning to let things go and to not sweat the small stuff. I have learned to love life every day and to always remember what’s important and what’s irrelevant to happiness.

IMG_6330IMG_6370IMG_9541IMG_7679IMG_9815485465_10151805010838374_799307376_nIMG_0691IMG_08182012-03-03 08.14.482013-10-29 17.17.55 2013-11-23 10.59.42 2013-12-02 21.07.442013-12-09 16.42.21hinton-412013-12-25 09.03.14

Leave a Reply

