Recollections

IMG_20120530_231621

My little 28 week bump.

As Charlie gets closer to turning one, I’ve been looking back to my pregnancy. Life before Charlie seems so distant and now even that seems a fading memory. But as I go through my old posts, I am brought straight back to that place. That curious place of pain and mystery and wonder. The anticipation of those final weeks is paramount. Here is a poem I wrote to celebrate the 36 week mark:

Baby growing

growing, growing, growing

like a forest, ever expanding

there’s no room but still you push

and press your face against the wall

I feel you move, mighty legs

a hand reaches out –

searching for another’s, for mine perhaps?

I rub my belly, barely recognizable

There are lines there now, marking your existance

I am a tree and they, my rings

my journey to here.

You nudge me again and I smile

I want to hold you,

sink my lips into your skin

and give you a mother’s kiss

not long to go now, baby

not long, not long…

Leave a Reply

