The PERFECT chocolate chip cookie recipe!

IMG_8839

For a while now, I have been searching for the perfect chocolate chip cookie recipe. Over the past few years, I have tried several different recipes, usually producing okay, but not mind-blowing results (however, even at it’s worst, a bad cookie is still a cookie…) Anyway, after many attempts (and failures) I think I have finally found “the one”….

Through my (not so) arduous quest, I have realised that like finding the perfect partner, creating the perfect cookie begins the same. First, before you even start looking, you must have an outline of attributes, identifying what the perfect cookie means to you. Start by asking yourself a few questions:

  • Do I like my cookies to be crunchy or moist?
  • Do I like them to be soft or flawlessly crumbly?
  • Do I like a lot of chocolate chips, or a little?

And for the extremists out there, consider for a moment, the emotional aspects of the cookie. Think about the thoughts, feelings and memories that a particular type of cookie may bring you…Your answers to these questions will create the basis for the type of recipe you want. And who knows, with a little preparation and forethought, you might just find love at first sight….

For me, the perfect cookie is something soft, something moist, something to sink my teeth into. Something sweet, the type of cookie that makes you crave a tall glass of milk, the perfect accompaniment to the most absolute cookie. Okay, perhaps I’m overthinking things, but it’s all part of the process. Anyway, in short,  If you’re into the crunchy hard variety this might not be for you, but if you’re more partial to the soft and chewy type, you will LOVE this! They’re very reminiscent of the kind you’d find at biscuit extraordinaire Mrs. Higgins – moist, soft and 100% delicious! I am crazy about them!!!! And while The Manly One may not be as ecstatic as I am, he enjoys them too (in his own, understated way of course) So if you’re still with me despite my rambling (and I hope you are) here’s how to make them….

Best Big Fat, Chewy, Mouth-Watering Chocolate Chip Cookies

  • 2 Cups sef raising flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 170 g unsalted butter, melted
  • 1 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1 Tablespoon vanilla extract
  • 1 egg
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 1 and 1/2 C semi sweet dark chocolate drops.
  1. Preheat oven to 165 degrees C.
  2. Grease baking tray or line with baking powder.
  3. Sift together the flour salt and set aside.
  4. In a medium bowl, mix melted butter, brown sugar and white sugar until well blended.
  5. Beat in vanilla, egg and egg yolk until light and creamy.
  6. Add sifted ingredients until just blended.
  7. Stir in the chocolate chips by hand using a wooden spoon.
  8. (use cadbury mild chocolate buds and nestle white chocolate bits both found in the baking aile).
  9. Put in fridge 15mins or more.
  10. Spoon onto baking tray.
  11. Cookies should be about 8 cm apart.
  12. Take out after exactly 15mins will be really soft but will set in a couple minutes.
  13. Then put onto wire rack to cool (or eat once set!!!!)

**Recipe adapted slighty from NZ’s Favourite Recipe

One thing that struck me as different from other recipes I have tried was the use of egg yolk in addition to the required egg and the refrigeration. I think that perhaps these changes pull together to create a cookie to be remember (and frequently requested!) If you’re still having trouble check out this handy guide to trouble shooting common cookie problems. I’ve used it before it found if very helpful! Anyway, if you do try this, leave me a comment and let me know how it went for you! Right now I’m off to do my workout, I think I’ll need it after making these!!!

4 thoughts on “The PERFECT chocolate chip cookie recipe!

  1. I have just made them and found them to be a little too salty so I will reduce the salt amount next time. They did come out nice and chewy and soft though. Yum!

  2. Hi there 🙂

    I used your recipe to make these a while back and they were amazing – I have this link saved to my favourites tab!! I was just wondering, do you think it would affect the outcome at all if I were to refrigerate the dough overnight?

    Thanks

    • Hi Vanessa! Sorry about my slow reply, you’ve probably already given it ago! For me the mixture went too solid if I left it overnight so it was harder to spoon out but the cookies still turned out ok! So glad you like the recipe! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

