DIY carpet spot cleaner

0823d

Babies. They make a lot of mess, don’t they? Especially on carpets! We have recently scuttled into the crawling phase and like a snail, our little one leaves a trail of food, dribble and spit up wherever he goes!  We have a mat that he is *supposed* to play on, though he seldom does. As a result, each day my carpet gets covered in a variety of spots, stains and little baby smudges… Lucky me!

I wouldn’t call myself a greeny (though, I do try and be enviro-friendly when I can) but I have been hesitant to use a chemical based spot remover. The reason for this is that Charlie spends so much of his time on the floor crawling around and I don’t want him licking up any of those nasties while he’s exploring. So, for a while now I have been searching for an easy to make carpet cleaner that is cheaper, safer and (hopefully) more effective than ones found in stores and supermarkets. After a few failed attempts (one which actually left my carpet worse off!) I wondered if I should give up and pay double for an eco-friendly carpet cleaner instead. I had almost given up when I found this .

It was easy to make, I had everything on hand and worked like a charm! I have a bottle stored in the cupboard and when I see a spot, all I need to do is give it a quick spritz, wait a few seconds and rub! It really as that simple! Here’s how to make it –

You will need:

  • A small spray bottle
  • 1tsp dish soap
  • 1tbsp white vinegar
  • 1c warm water
  • 1tsp baking soda

Get all your ingredients together and assemble near a sink. Start by adding the dish soap and vinegar to the spray bottle, then add the water. Lastly hold over sink and add the baking soda, quickly screwing on the top after (you remember those baking soda/vinegar volcanoes, right???) To use, spray and spot and rub gently with sponge, then dab with a towel. Continue doing this until stain is gone!

2 thoughts on “DIY carpet spot cleaner

  1. I just rub baking soda into the carpet and leave for a bit then drop some white vinegar on it, lifts anything and everything. It’s how I stain remove my clothes as well. Along with cleaning pretty much everything! Good old baking soda and vinegar, where would I be without you?

Leave a Reply

