In love with ombre!!!

c600x484

One trend I’m absolutely in love with at the moment is OMBRE!!! If you don’t know what it is, let me clue you up. The word ombre stems from the french term meaning ‘shaded’ In fashion and design, it is the effect of tapering a colour from light to dark, or vice versa. Think of that glorious paint chip wall at bunnings, teeming with delicious shades organised neatly by base colour – that’s ombre! A lot of ombre is creating through a process called dip-dying, the tie dye’s chic older cousin.

Ombre was first seen as a cool hair trend but has now spread to everything and anything imaginable. Clothing, jewellery  make up, food… Seriously anything. It’s featuring heavily on the runway at the moment, with many designers bringing it into their 2013 spring/summer collections. It’s becoming more prominent everywhere we look: in the street, in our homes, in stores, and I think it’s great!

If you know me, you’ll know that I am getting married in December. I love the ombre look and I definitely think it is a trend we’re going to incorporate into our plans. The manly and I were looking on pinterest (my idea, of course..) and we were drawn to this cake:

277112183292068878_4cj8CPUO_c

We were struck by it’s rich colours and accents and decided that it would make a great starting point for our wedding! Perfect for a summer shin-dig don’t you think??? I also was love this dress (you’ll have to help me out, I don’t know the designer!) and I think I’ll have something similar made for my wedding (in orange perhaps??? not traditional I know, but i’ll rock it all the same!)

I think there is something very pleasing about the ombre effect, though I’m not entirely sure what. Perhaps it’s the easiness it gives off, relaxed, calm and somehow organised and under control? Maybe it’s the fact that we can show off an abundance of gorgeous colours without looking like you’ve been finger painting with a two year old. Personally, I think the mix of brights and pastels allow you to be fierce while showing off your delicate side, revealing your true ability to kick ass! I love how the combination of tones pulls together and highlights the base colour – the effect is to die for!

What do you think of this trend? Leave me a comment and let me know! I would love to hear your thoughts! 🙂

Leave a Reply

