Colour play: Blue water fun!

blueplayThis morning Charlie and I continued our “Colour Journey” with this activity – Blue Water Fun! We had a great time and it was a perfect day for it too! For this activity you will need:

  • A bath. You could use your big bath or a little baby bath. If you don’t have either, you could use a large plastic storage bin.
  • Food colouring (we used blue!)
  • Things to play with, preferably ones that match the colour you made the bath. Doesn’t have to be bath toys, it could be anything, so long as it’s safe for baby.
  • A few things to pour with – could be plastic cups, containers, bottles, measuring cups, strainers – Whatever you’ve got, really!

To get started, I put down a towel and filled Charlie’s baby bath with about 5L of warm water. If you can, please use a non slip mat to keep baby safe! I then added a few drops of blue food colouring. Now this, I was quite skeptical about, I didn’t want any stains, on the baby or bath. So I tentatively added the colouring, swishing it around to test before adding a few more drops. I ended up using about 3/4 of a teaspoon and I thought this was a good amount.

IMG_5088

See, no stains on the baby!

And no stains on the bath either, which is good! After that I gathered together the toys that we would need. It is important that you do this before you put baby in – Never leave a baby unattended near water, even if it’s only a small amount. Be water safe, dear readers, it only takes a second for them to fall in and drown! Things we used were:

  • Blue balls 
  • A blue rubber ducky
  • A blue plastic cup
  • Large water bottle
  • A blue plastic food container
  • A strainer from the kitchen and
  • A childsafe mirror

IMG_5027

This is what our set up looked like! Looks fun, huh! I put it near the window because he loves looking out there at the bush! When he woke up from his nap, I fed him and then we got ready to play! I knew I wanted to take some pictures so I dressed him in swimming shorts but if your baby likes being nakey, let him! Then I placed him in the bath and let him explore the water, sans toys (you can introduce those later) He was so curious about it, it was so cute. I think he knew that there was something different about the bath but he wasn’t sure what! After a while, he figured it out and was completely fascinated by it! Then, he spotted the bucket of toys and wouldn’t stop looking at it so I got out his favourite blue ball:

IMG_5034Then I continued to introduce him to different toys, making them splash about then handing them to him to play with. I used the plastic cup to pour water onto his hands, which he loved. And he was totally mesmerised by the strainer! He also kept looking at his feet, as under the water they’re a different colour! It’s safe to say, he had a blast!IMG_5055IMG_5059IMG_5082He started to get fed up with his toys so I took them out and introduced the big finale: The mirror. I propped it up against the end of the bath and he was so curious about the “other” baby! IMG_5077

And to finish off, I dried him off and as it was warm, I let him chill in the nude while we listened to some quiet music. As Charlie has begun seeking out stimulation, I have noticed that it’s important to give him a cool down period, much like after you’ve been for a run. Our cool downs usually consists of listening to quiet music and having some cuddles, or I sing a song or read him a poem. Sometimes we just sit and I talk to him about the sounds we can hear coming from outside (birds, trees, traffic, doors opening closing etc) I love those moments with him so much.

I just wanted to add as an aside that when around water, it’s so important that you exercise caution. Don’t leave your child unattended and ensure that you are nearby – as a rule, I stay within a half a meter of where he is. Also, make sure that you know your child’s capabilities If your child can’t sit unsupported, it is best that you hold them. Charlie is quite a good sitter, but at five months, needed me to help him keep his balance. I only really let go of him for a few moments at a time when I knew he was stable, while I took a photo or two 🙂

I really recommend this activity as we had such a fun time!

Leave a Reply

