Montessori bedrooms and nurseries

946crayons

Today I wanted to share with you my ideas and thoughts on Montessori kids spaces. We are moving in the new year and I’ve been thinking a lot about what I am going to do with Charlie’s first bedroom. We are looking at moving him into his own room when he is about six months old, so if my calculations are correct, that means I will have one month to create a space for him that is his very own. So, naturally, I’ve been playing around with ideas and making full use of pinterest. I found lots of great stuff, however, I became particulary taken by the idea of creating a Montessori bedroom for Charlie. I’m not going to go into it much as I am no expert, but if you are not aware, the term ‘Montessori’ refers to an educational method in which, the learning is almost entirely child-led. If you want to find out more check out this site. It gives you a detailed description of the background and method.

Anywho, I first learned about Montessori bedrooms on the blog Baby Turtle Takes The World. Her whole blog is amazing, but one post that particularly caught my attention was one in which she outlined the plans for her daughters Montessori bedroom. After that, I did a bit of research and found that I completely adored everything about them;  their style, their philosophy, their beauty and possibly my favourite aspect, their simplicity.  Due to the nature of the philosophy, Montessori bedrooms and classrooms are set up in a way where children can easily explore and access everything. And that’s what I love about it. Montessori bedrooms are designed with the child in mind – that is to say, everything is within the child’s reach. Of course, every Montessori room is different as not all children and families are the same. However, some common attributes of  Montessori bedrooms include:

  • A space that is 100% baby proof so your child can freely explore their room without hurting themselves.
  • A floor bed. This is a key element which most, if not all montessori rooms have. Using a floor bed as opposed to a cot or crib allows the child the freedom to get in and out without needing your help.
  • A mobile that hangs over the bed.
  • Decor which reflects the child’s interests/personality.
  • Child sized furniture. The aim of a Montessori bedroom is to make everything accessible to your child, so when choosing furniture, you should consider how easy or difficult it would be for your child to reach or use.
  • Low shelves, particularly ones with book case like cubbies.
  • Natural materials where possible. Consider the textures and fibres and how they appeal to our senses.
  • A mirror attached to the wall next to the bed or near the bed. This mirror should preferably be quite large and low enough for the child to explore his or her body and face.
  • A gate at the doorway so the door may be left open.
  • A well organised space. Toys should all have their place and there shouldn’t be too much clutter. To minimise clutter, you could rotate the toy’s your child has in his or her room. For example, you could keep a majority of the toys elsewhere and each week replace the ones in the bedroom with others that you already have. The room should feel natural and comfortable.

I really love the idea that Charlie will have a space that he can freely explore, without me worrying about him falling out of his cot or climbing on a tall book cases to get a toy. I love child-sized furniture and feel that by giving your child furniture that he or she can easily access, they will begin to realise that they can do simple tasks, like getting out of bed, without relying on you. If you’ve spent much time around kids, one thing you’ll know is that they absolutely love being independent. It makes sense of course, we are their role models and so, they try and mirror what we do. They don’t like being treated differently. That is why even if a baby has a thousand different toys, the one thing she’ll want to play with will be your expensive iPhone! We are not living our lives 100% Montessori but there are many aspects that I like and am trying to incorporate into our lives.  I’ll leave you now with some of my favourite Montessori bedrooms. I hope you enjoy them and feel inspired! I know I certainly do!

One thought on “Montessori bedrooms and nurseries

  1. Pingback: Starting Fresh in 2013- New Ideas, New Inspiration, and New Beginnings « homeschoolinghelicoptermama

Leave a Reply

