Am I mad or what? I miss being pregnant!

Here’s something I never anticipated – I must warn you, it’s a little crazy… but I actually miss being pregnant! Which is totally nuts because when you’re pregnant, you feel awful (unless you’re one of the lucky few that get no symptoms) Even though I feel like I didn’t have a particularly rough pregnancy, I did have horrible heartburn, a seriously sore back and morning sickness through all three trimesters… And I haven’t forgotten – I still remember what how sucky it is to not be able to keep food down. But knowing that you are creating life inside you is such an amazing feeling and I miss it. Don’t get me wrong – motherhood is a million times more awesome than being pregnant- and I love my little man so much but yeah, for some strange reason, I miss all the horror and joy that pregnancy brings.

As a result, I’ve found myself vicariously living through a couple of acquaintances of mine who are currently expecting. Well, I may be exaggerating a bit, but I do enjoy catching up with them over facebook, asking them lots about how everything is going.  And I’ve found myself back on tumblr – I’ve just followed a whole bunch of mamas-to-be, I’m not sure if this is creepy or not but it is so exciting watching someone else going through the throes of pregnancy. I guess it makes me look back and remember with fondness what the experience was like for me and I suppose, just for a fleeting moment, I get to re-live those wonderful moments while being thankful that I have my baby in my arms and don’t have to suffer through those less than wonderful moments (power-chucking so hard you look like you’re on the set of the exorcist, anyone?)

It’s also got me thinking about what being pregnant will be like with number two. Of course, for us, it is still to early for numero deux but we have decided that if circumstances allow, we will start TTC our second (and last!) in December 2013, hoping for another spring baby in 2014! And I’m really looking forward to it! When you’re pregnant for the first time, you are sailing into uncharted waters, completely unknown, even if you have read “what to expect when you’re expecting” But with your second you have some experience so there must be a…. familiarity about it? More relaxed, perhaps? I think I will feel better prepared and hopefully, less frantic. What I’m really curious about though, are the differences, as I’m sure there will be many. I’m told that each and every pregnancy can be different and that as a woman, you could have two completely different pregnancies. I wonder whether I’ll have different cravings, whether I’ll have morning sickness like I did, whether my bump will be different…. when I was pregnant, I had a small bump, I’m sure I didn’t look full term when I gave birth. This was me at 37 weeks, one week and two days before Charlie was born:

On the small side, huh? It’s crazy to think that the Charlie I know and love now – my kid, the one with such a huge personality, once rested inside my belly, tiny and lifeless, with no experience, no knowledge, nothing. He’s now three months old and so full of life, so curious and so wonderful. He really is the most wonderful thing that’s ever happened to me and it’s hard to imagine him is anything other than what he is now.

Leave a Reply

