The BEST home-made brownie recipe… ever!

So, in this house, we have sweet-tooth. A major one. I, myself, am a chocolate fiend and when I tried this recipe for the first time last year, I nearly cried… I’m not even joking, they really are that good! I’ve always been a lover of Brownies and all things chocolate and fudgy, but if there’s one thing I hate, it’s the process of melting chocolate (for baking anyway, Fondues, close your ears. I’m not talking about you, ha ha!) This is why I love this recipe! No double-boiler required, no simmering, no stirring, no messy saucepan-to-mixing bowl transfers… Just a few ingredients and your trusty ol’ microwave! So here it is, the recipe for the fudgiest and most delicious brownies you’ll ever make!

Delicious Chocolate Brownies

  • 160g butter
  • 3 eggs
  • 1/4 cup cocoa powder
  • 1 and 1/2 cups white sugar
  • 1/4 cup self raising flour (or 1/4 C standard flour with 1tsp of baking powder + 1tsp baking soda added)
  • 1-2 cups of dark or semi-sweet chocolate drops/melts
  • 1 tsp vanilla essence
  • a pinch of salt
  • icing sugar (to dust)

Preheat oven to 180C and line a medium sized rectangular baking dish (I have a 9x15cm brownie pan) In a microwave safe bowl, melt butter. Pour into a medium sized mixing bowl and add cocoa powder and use an electric beater to combine. Then add eggs, one a time, beating well after each addition. Beat until mixture thickens and quips up a bit, mine always resembles melted chocolate consistency. After that, mix in the sugar and vanilla essence. Then, stir in chocolate drops and add flour and a pinch of salt and mix until just combined. Pour into lined dish and bake at 180C for 25-30 minutes, or until it springs back when pressed. Allow to cool, then cut and dust with icing sugar!

I really love this recipe so much. These brownies are awesome with berries and ice cream, or even just a grand old dollop of whipped cream. Sometimes I make them in patty pans as Chocolate Brownie muffins – to do this, just pour into lined muffin-tin and bake for 15-20 minutes. I usually get eighteen out of this mixture and they’re great for parties etc!  I really hope you enjoy this one as much as I do, happy baking! x

5 thoughts on “The BEST home-made brownie recipe… ever!

  1. Pingback: This week in inspiration: Eat, Drink, Bake & Create | One Whimsical Mama

Leave a Reply

