Music obsession: Grimes

Something featuring pretty high on my playlist this month is Canadian alt-pop queen, Grimes. I came across her while watching C4 (NZ’s answer to MTV) at 1am while nursing my babe. After just a few seconds of her song “Genesis” I became entranced by her voice and loved it!

Since then, I’ve been listening to the 2010 album Visions and so far, I’m really liking what I hear! This record is the perfect mix of catchy melodies and synth beats, with ethereal vocals that sound heaven-sent. Her musical influences branch far and wide, ranging from industrial artists Skinny Puppy and Nine Inch Nails to Pop Princesses Beyonce and Mariah Carey. Her music and voice are one of a kind and I love getting her tunes stuck in my head. If you’re in New Zealand, you can catch Grimes in Dec as she’s playing two shows in Auckland and Wellington. Sadly for all you jaffas, the Auckland show is SOLD OUT but if you hurry, you might be able to snag yourself a ticket to the Wellington. Hit up Under The Radar for more info! For now, I’ll leave you with some photos of this lovely lady.

Leave a Reply

